I want to learn what I want!

I love school. I have always loved school. Learning has always been a quest for me, but now I am finding school is actually stopping me from doing so. I am not saying that school isn’t trying to teach me new facts because it is, but it never seems to be knowledge I would like to acquire.

For example, I am hoping to have a career in the vast field of physic when I get older (I really want to write “when I grow up” but I figure I have already started to do that). I know that to get a better understanding of the general field of science, I must take some chemistry and biology courses. That is perfectly fine to me. But at the moment, I am unable to take any physics courses because my school has not planed for the echo-boom and all the classes are full. This means that I am now in a human genetics course and various other chemistry and biology courses. I do believe that there is something wrong with my public school.

Another example that comes to mind, is one of my friends in high school. She was never good at math but could she ever write. I was sure that she would be the next Margaret Lawrence or Harper Lee. Sadly throughout high school,  teachers kept telling her that she was an awful student because she was doing horribly in math. They repeatedly told her that she would never get a good job because she wasn’t “trying hard enough”. This made her miserable and began to hate school. She almost didn’t graduate. All of this because she couldn’t understand algebra and geometry. Now, after encouragement from her friends she is studying to be a journalist and is in the top of her class.

Why don’t schools,  let student learn what they want to learn? Yes all the basics such as  reading, writing, art, science, math and economics should be covered. But why force kids to have to sit in a classroom and learn something that doesn’t interest them at all? I believe that students will be happier learning what inspires them. If they don’t then after school they take the information that has been implanted in their brains and they do a job that they hate. Which in turn will make them miserable. I want people to know what it feels like to do something that they love. A day when you are happy at work isn’t a day at work at all, it is a day at play.

Let there be a society that plays again. Let those who want to be plumbers be plumbers! Those who want to be physicists be physicists! ARTISTS BE ARTISTS. SINGERS SING! MATHEMATICIANS BE MATHEMATICIANS. CHEFS BE CHEFS… Find something that makes you happy and do it. Because life is to short to work a 9 to 5 job you hate.

If you don’t believe me, listen to him.

~ by tahnok on January 7, 2010.

Leave a comment